Vacation’s over. Back to the daily grind.

Why does a week of relaxing at the beach go by so much faster than other weeks? It’s not fair.

We are back from our trip to Surfside Beach, TX. The reason for this getaway was to celebrate all of the big events that happened in my family this year. My mother retired, my sister and her hubby turned 40, I turned 30, my sister-in-law turned 40, and a close family friend turned 50. Not to mention it had been a few years since we had all taken a trip together. It’s hard getting us all together because there are so many of us.

I am one of six kids. All but one of us are married, and my single sister always brings her best friend (that close family friend I mentioned above) whose been part of our family for about 12 years now. Only three of us that are married have kids so far. I have two, my sister has three, and my brother has five. Oh, and out of all 10 of our kids, 9 of them are boys.

We always have a good time when we all get together. And this was the first time we had all been to the beach together. There was a lot of swimming, sand digging, crab hunting, clam collecting and boogie boarding happening all week. Unfortunately, we were unimpressed with the beach house itself. The A/C upstairs went out and didn’t get fixed for 2 days. Two of the burners on the stove didn’t work (not good when trying to feed that many hungry people). And there was a horrible smell in the kitchen that we finally traced back to mildew behind the fridge. Gross!

But even with these few disappointments, it was a great trip! I’m sad it’s over.
 

 

 
Here’s a look at our “big catch” after the first night of crab hunting.
 

 

Leave a Reply

