The Big 3-0

It’s official. My twenties are over. My birthday was last week, July 3. Due to the continuous birthday celebrations (mine and America’s), I never got a chance to share with you how I spent this momentous occasion. Better late than never, right?

My day started with the best gift ever…sleeping in. Sometimes I miss those younger (kid free) days when I could sleep until noon without a care in the world. But now, the more mature version of myself sees that as a huge waste of a day. But of course, given the opportunity to get a little extra sleep, I took full advantage and slept until 8:30 AM. (Lame-o, I know).

My boys then treated me to a very delicious brunch at a local restaurant. This was very daring on my hubby’s part considering this is a white table cloth type of place and we have a crazy 18-month-old. Oscar was so confused as to why this white fabric was covering up the table. He was getting very angry at it and folding it over so he could see the table underneath. Fortunately, my boys love nothing more than breakfast. So as soon as the food came, everyone behaved (for the most part), and I was able to enjoy my Grand Marnier French Toast and a cranberry mimosa.

After brunch, we returned home to open presents. Alex bought me an Anthropologie gift card (love!) and two posters from an Etsy shop called strawberryluna. We’ve been looking for art for our bare living room walls. I found this shop a few months back and thought the designs were adorable. He remembered and chose these two posters.
 

 
I love them. The colors couldn’t be more perfect for the living room. There will definitely be a post in the near future showing where we decide to hang them.

After presents, it was nap time. The kids both took naps and so did I. That mimosa really knocked me out. I’M SO OLD!!!!

After naps, we all enjoyed a piece of this strawberries’n’cream cake. Yum-o!
 

 
We then packed up and headed to my brother’s house. I failed to mention that a few days before my b-day, my mother celebrated her retirement, and my entire family was in town – all five of my siblings and their families. We decided to have a family cookout and do some swimming. So the rest of my birthday looked a little something like this…
 

 
My family being in town threw a slight kink in Alex’s original plans for my b-day. So this past weekend, he treated me to a night out, just the two of us. We did a little shopping (had to use my Anthropologie gift card!), enjoyed dinner at a nice Greek restaurant, and saw Greg Behrendt perform at the Improv. Hilarious!

Oh, and since my in-laws agreed to take the kids for the night, both Alex and I got to sleep in…until 10:00 AM! Go us!
 
P.S. I forgot to mention I also received a very special surprise from my BFF in Boston. You can check it out here.
 

2 Responses to “The Big 3-0”

  1. so perfect. what a great bday celebration, ereeca. LOVE the posters. :)

    oh – and welcome to your 30s… mwahahahaha.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

