Just a little eco-friendly vanity

Over the past week, we’ve continued working on the living room, but it’s going to be a slow process. A lot of little steps need to be taken before we can actually start painting. So no mind-blowing “after” pictures this week. However, between sanding and wood putty, I did manage to make a long awaited purchase for the room.

Alex and I have been on the hunt for the perfect mirror to hang above the mantle in the living room for over a year. Due to the lack of windows in the room, we knew a mirror would be a good way to help bounce a little light around the room. After buying all of our new furniture last year, I found a mirror at World Market that I thought was a good option. But it was only available online and that always makes me hesitate. I really like to see things in person to know for sure what kind of quality I’m getting. However, I hadn’t really had much luck in my search, and I couldn’t get that World Market mirror out of my head. So, I showed it to Alex.
 

Not only was it the right size, price and color, it was also made from recycled magazines! Eco-friendly is always a plus. Unfortunately, my dear husband never manages to muster up enough excitement about these things, so even though he said he liked this mirror, I could tell he wasn’t in love with it and continued my search. A few months later, Alex asked me, “Whatever happened to that World Market mirror?” You can imagine the look on my face. I quickly went to the website and found that they no longer had it available. WHAT?!?! That was it. I was done. No more mirror shopping for me.

Now lets fast forward a year. I’m back at it. Searching high and low for the perfect mantle companion. And to my surprise, what do I find? World Market has brought back the mirror that I thought was gone forever! I tell Alex the good news, and we decide this must be a sign. It’s meant to be. I search for an online coupon and find a Free Shipping offer at Retail Me Not. Over $20 worth of savings! Works for me!

Now we are just waiting for the mirror to be delivered and keeping our fingers crossed that we will love it just as much in person. I’m a little worried it’s going to look very small in such a large room, but we’ll find out for sure very soon.
 

2 Trackbacks to “Just a little eco-friendly vanity”

Leave a Reply

