Sprouts

Today, as I write, I have an enormous smile on my face. Over the past week, we have started to see our vegetable garden grow, and I’m over the moon about it. I know, I’m a huge dork, but seriously, it’s very exciting!! So much so, I found it necessary to call Alex at work to inform him of this news. And now, we can’t stop going outside to look at our new little green babies.

We ended up planting one row each of zucchini (pictured at left), carrots, green onions, broccoli and green beans. We keep being told we planted the zucchini and green beans too early, so we were very excited to see that so far everything is growing and doing well. As this is a learning experience for us, we now know to keep our eye on the zucchini and green beans, and if necessary, we can always replant them in a month or so.

We also planted tomatoes, onions, and peppers in small pots in the house. And by small pots, I mean cans, jars and plastic containers we pulled out of the recycling bin. So far, everything except the peppers are growing, but I’m not going to let that get me down. Not when there is so much other growth happening.
 

Here is close-up shot of the rows in our garden. If you look closely, you can see some green sprouts. We still have a million leaves in our backyard. I’ve mentioned the plethora of leaves before here.
 

Here’s a shot of one of our tomato sprouts that we keep inside during the day. And we just planted those seeds one week ago!
 

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Sprouts”

  1. I have learned that peppers – especially hot peppers – take much longer to germinate than other veggies. Hold on; they’ll catch up in time!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

